top of page

Putting the personal back in PPE

PPE is impersonal. I spotted this image online, and it got me thinking - why is Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), in its existing form, so impersonal.


With the economy slowly(!) easing out of lock-down, many customer facing businesses are providing their staff with full-face PPE masks.


Image Credit: The Sun Newspaper


The trouble is; they look ever so unapproachable for the consumer. Medical in appearance, and basic in form. I can understand why this approach works well in a hospital environment, but now we are migrating this protective equipment into retail environments - I can't help but wonder if there is opportunity to create a more approachable full-face PPE face covering?


This face shield design by Joe Doucet (http://joedoucet.com/face-shield) has transformed PPE into a fashion-like accessory. I can see his sunglasses-like visor fitting in well for the consumer, navigating the streets outside as we ease(!) into the 'new-normal.' Specifically on a vanity scale.


Image Credit: Joe Doucet


Though you could argue sunglasses are a form of PPE, much like it's sunglasse's counterpart - I wouldn't describe the form of this face shield as approachable. I couldn't see it working in a customer facing environment (even if finished in clear polycarbonate.) I also think it underplays the seriousness of a face-shield.


CO-VISOR Concept Sketch


I wonder, can we strike a balance? Something less pharmaceutical in appearance, but equally as safe. Less of a 'fashion accessory', more of a 'working tool.' Can we design personal, back into PPE?

78 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

subject: a design blog by ben powell

copyright © 2020 benjamin powell

bottom of page